News

moodlite - Coming soon


cheesiosaur Build Log

cheesiosaur · 1169

cheesiosaur

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
on: December 30, 2018, 08:30:46 AM
Well, if all the cool kids are doing it...



While it's not the best photo, it gives an idea of the diffusion. I've printed 10 tops with the following:

  • dropped the file .2mm below the build plate to reduce thickness of diffuser to .4mm
  • Makergeeks white filament, it's the spare i had from an old box
  • First layer pattern concentric so surface looks nice
  • relatively high build speed for an Anycubic i3 Mega, so print time is 1 hour 19 minutes per top

Photo attached is not the best, but gives an idea of the level of transparency.

Printing the bases in a separate white filament I have, it's pearlescent but I anticipate that will have minor impact. For electronics, I ordered the following so far from Amazon (US):

Wires:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BQMS1JV
I ordered 10 - 1m lights. I ordered more from aliexpress where its far far cheaper.

Lights:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01CDTEG1O
IP30, white! IP30 is the non-waterproof, to avoid the silicone laminate on the top layer.

ESP8266
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IK9GEQG
I'm hoping this will do, I don't see why it won't. It's not much more expensive on Amazon than it is on the 'straight from China' sites, so Prime shipping it is, 2 for 12$.

Haven't ordered a power supply yet as I'm looking that over closely for the best option to power a (relatively) long strand of these, as they'll be stretching a wall in my workshop/shed in a few weeks.





CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat Dude
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 113
    • Likes: +15/-0
  • Lighting the way...
    • View Profile
Reply #1 on: December 30, 2018, 08:41:18 AM
Wow.. that looks awesome !!

I've no idea what this concentric layer thing is but I've just found it in Prusa Slic5er so giving it a go.. I really hope I don't like it that much otherwise I'll have to print all my covers again.. lol


Looking forward to your next update :-)

Steve





Moodlite is a completely free open source project.
If however you would like to say thanks and help contribute to this site, or just buy me a beer then please donate below. :-)



cheesiosaur

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: December 30, 2018, 08:49:57 AM
Haha, the concentric setting (at least in cura) has the layer pattern on the first layer start in the center and work its way outward rather than the big zag across. It has a minor difference when they aren't lit (I would think) but probably doesn't make a visible difference when they are lit. However, I use it for my first layer on most prints because with simple shapes it makes the surface look nice.



LBC970

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 7
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #3 on: December 30, 2018, 07:27:11 PM
Welcome to the cool kids club...

Where is this setting in Cura for the first layer? I tried searching the word "concentric" and found nothing. I'm off to look again!



shfaxx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 95
    • Likes: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #4 on: January 01, 2019, 03:36:23 PM
Look under "Shell", there is a "Top/Bottom Pattern" and "Bottom Pattern Initial Layer".  You can change them both to "Lines", "Zig Zag" or "Concentric".

« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 01:02:07 AM by shfaxx »



cheesiosaur

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 5
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #5 on: January 06, 2019, 08:21:52 AM
Got everything up and running, though finding the soldering more time consuming than I had anticipated (and fried the LEDs on 2 panels with a bad solder at teh end of a previous panel).

Right now its running V1 of the software. Saw the update go up a bit ago which looks to overhaul everything quite a bit, but after flashing it, I had to flash v1 again. For some reason the nodemcu bootloops on v2 for me, but I'd venture to guess that's something on my end I'll be able to resolve.



LordVader

  • moodlite Developer
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 113
    • Likes: +6/-0
  • I find your lack of faith disturbing!
    • View Profile
Reply #6 on: January 06, 2019, 10:45:44 AM
One of my NodeMCUs bootloops as well after flashing the newest version. I now use another NodeMCU now.


CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat Dude
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 113
    • Likes: +15/-0
  • Lighting the way...
    • View Profile
Reply #7 on: January 06, 2019, 11:29:37 AM
Not sure if it helps but I cleared both my EEprom and the SPIFFs.  On the new 1.1 version if you look in the setup() just uncomment and see if it solves your problem.


   // --- Uncomment to reset ---
   // Erase EEPROM
   eraseEEPROM();
   // Erase SPIFFS
   eraseSPIFFS();


It will be back to blank again so you will need to redo your SSID etc.. :-)


Don't forget.. uncomment.. Flash.. comment and RE-Flash.   Don't do what I did and uncomment and forget and wonder why no settings are being saved.. lol


Steve

Moodlite is a completely free open source project.
If however you would like to say thanks and help contribute to this site, or just buy me a beer then please donate below. :-)



LordVader

  • moodlite Developer
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 113
    • Likes: +6/-0
  • I find your lack of faith disturbing!
    • View Profile
Reply #8 on: January 06, 2019, 11:57:14 AM
Nice! That did the trick!
This should be added to something like a FAQ.


spigot

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 112
    • Likes: +24/-0
  • There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    • View Profile
Reply #9 on: January 06, 2019, 02:31:34 PM



 


SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk