News

moodlite - Coming soon


Testing WLED

ARN · 644

ARN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 26
    • Likes: +5/-0
    • View Profile
on: December 01, 2019, 11:45:34 PM
Hello everyone!
I just wanted to let you know I just tried using WLED  as the software for Moodlite and is being very interesting.
I deeply love Moodlite implementation, but doing MQTT right has become an issue for me.
Using WLED eased a lot of the technical and coding  need that were beyond my knowledge, I modified the wled 0.8.6 to output to 2 pins, gpio 2 and 3 this way I have certain flexibility doing my projects .
The advantages are:
  • No YAML File modification to integrate.
  • Direct control of patters and basic functions on home assistant.
  • Huge number of patters.
  • Electric overload monitored by software (it tries to keep power usage inside of a defined threshold).
  • It syncs patters between separate devices.


below some pictures from the app, home assistant and my LED setups.



ARN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 26
    • Likes: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #1 on: December 07, 2019, 01:18:00 PM
UPDATE:
Using Ledfx I was able to add sound reaction, the caveat is that it needs a computer or other device to listen and send the patterns to the esp controller attached to the leds.



nicksears

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: February 19, 2020, 03:38:09 AM
WLED works great, but it's no better than a standalone addressable LED controller like this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TYMR2T2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

you can't group the led's...which is the thing that makes these effects look so cool...



nicksears

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #3 on: February 22, 2020, 04:46:08 PM
Can anyone confirm they got the base case working before switching to wled? I finally got something semi-functional, but I couldn't even adjust brightness, speed, or turn on/off.

Those are crucial enough for me to say it doesn't work, but I'm not interested in wled since it can't group LEDs.



ARN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 26
    • Likes: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #4 on: February 22, 2020, 05:07:26 PM
I had V2 and V3 working.
Wled can emulate groups by using sync function and setting the UDP ports you want to assign.
I guess you can also create your own custom groups on Home Assistant.



nicksears

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 05:08:42 PM
I mean grouping the LEDs within each panel. Is that possible/am I missing how?



ARN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 26
    • Likes: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #6 on: February 22, 2020, 05:10:52 PM
You are right, that's not an option.



sT0n3r

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 4
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #7 on: February 22, 2020, 10:57:57 PM
its an option .. you can add segments  8)



nicksears

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 11
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #8 on: February 22, 2020, 11:03:18 PM
As far as I can tell, segments are meant to mirror/split, so this would accomplish the opposite. (turn each panel into a strand)

Instead, I want to make multiple LEDs in each panel behave the same.

Unless you can make a segment that contains the first LED from each panel, another with the second, etc?



 


SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk