News

moodlite - Coming soon


moodlite software [2.0] Release

spigot · 2413

spigot

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 111
    • Likes: +24/-0
  • There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    • View Profile
Reply #30 on: January 28, 2019, 05:34:26 PM
If you don't have your own domain, use some public NTP server, e.g.: europe.pool.ntp.org (https://www.pool.ntp.org/zone/europe)

Don't forget to change to your time zone:

Code: [Select]
// Ntp Server
// Time zones
// Central European Time (Frankfurt, Paris)
// Central European Summer Time
TimeChangeRule tchrCest = { "CEST", Last, Sun, Mar, 2, 120 };
// Central European Standard Time
TimeChangeRule tchrCet = { "CET", Last, Sun, Oct, 3, 60 };
Timezone tzCe(tchrCest, tchrCet);
TimeChangeRule *tcr;



SULTAN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 18
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #31 on: January 28, 2019, 05:42:21 PM
If you don't have your own domain, use some public NTP server, e.g.: europe.pool.ntp.org (https://www.pool.ntp.org/zone/europe)

Don't forget to change to your time zone:

Code: [Select]
// Ntp Server
// Time zones
// Central European Time (Frankfurt, Paris)
// Central European Summer Time
TimeChangeRule tchrCest = { "CEST", Last, Sun, Mar, 2, 120 };
// Central European Standard Time
TimeChangeRule tchrCet = { "CET", Last, Sun, Oct, 3, 60 };
Timezone tzCe(tchrCest, tchrCet);
TimeChangeRule *tcr;
I donít understand anything here.
For Ukraine, what needs to be changed?



spigot

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 111
    • Likes: +24/-0
  • There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    • View Profile
Reply #32 on: January 28, 2019, 05:46:09 PM
Look at timezone lib: https://github.com/JChristensen/Timezone

Part "Coding TimeChangeRules".



SULTAN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 18
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #33 on: January 28, 2019, 06:22:21 PM
Look at timezone lib: https://github.com/JChristensen/Timezone

Part "Coding TimeChangeRules".


Everything works only the tape flickers
« Last Edit: January 28, 2019, 08:15:56 PM by SULTAN »



galorin

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #34 on: January 29, 2019, 11:01:37 AM

Everything works only the tape flickers

Have you got the resistor on your data line?



SULTAN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 18
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #35 on: January 29, 2019, 12:48:53 PM

Everything works only the tape flickers

Have you got the resistor on your data line?

Thanks, put the resistor. The blinking has disappeared. But I noticed that when you turn off the ribbon through the Web interface, the first LED continues to light in red.



SULTAN

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 18
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #36 on: January 29, 2019, 05:54:39 PM
Look at timezone lib: https://github.com/JChristensen/Timezone

Part "Coding TimeChangeRules".
Hello.
Can you help.
I just can not deal with ntp.

// Ntp Server
// Time zones
// Eastern European Time (Ukraine, Kiev)
// Eastern European Summer Time
TimeChangeRule uaEest = {'EEST', Last, Sun, Mar, 31, 180};
// Central European Standard Time
TimeChangeRule uaEet = {'EET', Last, Sun, Oct, 27, 120};
Timezone uaEastern (uaEest, uaEet);
TimeChangeRule * tcr;
How to use public ntp server?
And why does one LED remain on when switching off via the interface?



Allistar

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 8
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #37 on: January 30, 2019, 02:35:38 AM

Everything works only the tape flickers

Have you got the resistor on your data line?

Upgraded to v2.0 on a 9 panel, 3 LEDs per corner panel array with a 5v 4.0a adapter.  LOVE the new patterns!

v1.3 had been rock solid.  However, I'm noticing some interesting, intermittent *very brief* flickering/stuttering/hiccup on some patterns (Rainbow / Full Rainbow as an example) in v2.0.

I'm still using D6 for LEDs and currently no resistors or capacitors -- they haven't been needed as of the previous software version.


Thoughts?  Any errata or required HW changes that should occur to support v2.0?
p.s. Given the BPM Pattern shown, can we expect mic enablement in the roadmap?  :)
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 06:36:23 AM by Allistar »



mannymiller

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Likes: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #38 on: January 30, 2019, 02:14:50 PM
I jumped in and installed the latest version ( version 2) all installed without a hitch. Brightness does not seem to work. and on the speed selecter there seems to be 2 buttons ?. i cleared EEProm and installed version 1.3 and all seems to work fine brightness etc. 



Allistar

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 8
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #39 on: January 30, 2019, 03:52:31 PM
Here's an example of the weird stutter/flicker/can't even describe it.  It happens once or twice in this clip.  One near beginning, one near end of video.

It's almost intangible but it does give me "It's not perfectly smooth" OCD which always gives me problem tunnelvision until it's solved.




shiryou

  • moodlite Developer
  • Newbie
  • *****
    • Posts: 44
    • Likes: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #40 on: January 30, 2019, 05:18:26 PM
can you upload the text on your debug window when changin the bright?

@Allistar I can see the flicker on the video, but it never happened to me, the rainbow effect is one of the standard effects on the FastLED library

I jumped in and installed the latest version ( version 2) all installed without a hitch. Brightness does not seem to work. and on the speed selecter there seems to be 2 buttons ?. i cleared EEProm and installed version 1.3 and all seems to work fine brightness etc.



Allistar

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 8
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #41 on: January 30, 2019, 05:41:04 PM
I can somewhat reproduce it when refreshing the Moodlite internal webserver.  Some sort of interrupt or routine issue between the wifi/website serving and the fastLED library perhaps?  Just guessing at this rate, sorry. :)

I tried decreasing the interrupt retry count to 0 and also turning off interrupts and both instances unfortunately prevented wifi control of the NodeMCU...

Any thoughts?

can you upload the text on your debug window when changin the bright?

@Allistar I can see the flicker on the video, but it never happened to me, the rainbow effect is one of the standard effects on the FastLED library

I jumped in and installed the latest version ( version 2) all installed without a hitch. Brightness does not seem to work. and on the speed selecter there seems to be 2 buttons ?. i cleared EEProm and installed version 1.3 and all seems to work fine brightness etc.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 06:23:05 PM by Allistar »



Allistar

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 8
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #42 on: January 30, 2019, 07:33:20 PM
I took some slow motion on my iPhone to capture what I perceive to be a flicker.  It actually seems to be some sort of weird, temporary color inversion for barely a frame.  See below for imgur album of the frame before the flicker and the 'flicker' frame as well.

Is noone else having this issue?!  lol

I have 2 other NodeMCUs wired up that i'll flash with v2 later today to troubleshoot with, but given that this had been flicker-free before v2, I don't think it's hardware related.


https://imgur.com/a/oONDqxB






Allistar

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 8
    • Likes: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #43 on: January 30, 2019, 09:45:53 PM
I think I've uncovered a downside to using 3 glorious LEDs per corner and having more than 7 panels:

https://github.com/jasoncoon/esp8266-fastled-webserver/issues/85#issuecomment-436991978

Are y'all implementing the fork of FastLED that uses DMA to help buffer the LED driving to avoid Wifi processes from taking up too many cycles/interrupts?
... any chance you could, if this is indeed the root cause to my issue?

I took some slow motion on my iPhone to capture what I perceive to be a flicker.  It actually seems to be some sort of weird, temporary color inversion for barely a frame.  See below for imgur album of the frame before the flicker and the 'flicker' frame as well.

Is noone else having this issue?!  lol

I have 2 other NodeMCUs wired up that i'll flash with v2 later today to troubleshoot with, but given that this had been flicker-free before v2, I don't think it's hardware related.


https://imgur.com/a/oONDqxB



shiryou

  • moodlite Developer
  • Newbie
  • *****
    • Posts: 44
    • Likes: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #44 on: January 30, 2019, 09:57:57 PM
Ill look at that tomorrow dont worry



 


SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk